September 2011: Government Affairs


Government Affairs

Super Committee’s Super Roll

Under the Budget Control Act (BCA) of 2011, Congress created the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, one of the most historically significant Joint Committees ever created by Congress.

The BCA mandated that, in return for raising the statutory debt limit of the United States by $400 million in August 2011 (with a further increase of $500 billion in the future unless Congress disapproves), Congress would cut $917 million in federal spending during 10 years, and the Joint Select Committee would then create legislation cutting a minimum of $1.5 trillion in further cuts. This would be presented to both the House of Representatives and Senate for up or down votes. No amendment would be allowed, no filibusters would be allowed and, if the legislation is not passed by Dec. 23, 2011, automatic cuts of $1.2 trillion would be triggered that would cut across big accounts such as defense spending and Medicare.

The committee was created to consist of 12 Members of Congress, with the Speaker of the House, Minority Leader of the House, Senate Majority Leader, and Senate Minority Leader each given authority to name three members to the committee, ensuring that the committee would be made of six republicans, six democrats, six Senate members, and six House members. This was one of the most-watched events in Congress for some time and, now that the members are named, they are being scrutinized by every organization and citizen with an interest in the federal government. This 12-person committee will have broad authority to reform the federal government in ways no other committee has ever had, and the lobbying efforts to get time in front of the members already has began at a unbelievably fast pace.

The membership of the committee recently was announced by all four leaders and consists of the following members:

Republican House Members

  • Jeb Hensarling – Chairman of the House Republican Conference and Co-Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction
  • Dave Camp – Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee
  • Fred Upton – Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee

Democrat House Members

  • Jim Clyburn – Assistant House Democrat Leader
  • Xavier Becerra – Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus
  • Chris Van Hollen – Ranking Member of the House Budget Committee

Republican Senate Members

  • John Kyl – Republican Whip
  • Pat Toomey – Senate Budget Committee Member
  • Rob Portman – Former Director of OMB and Former U.S. Trade Representative

Democrat Senate Members

  • Patty Murray – Chairwoman of the Democrat Senatorial Campaign Committee
  • Max Baucus – Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee
  •  John Kerry – Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee

These 12 Members of Congress have the opportunity to impact our government like none other. During the next four months, they not only will shape the size, scope and priorities of our federal government for decades to come, but also they will shape the political landscape for the foreseeable future. Their influence will continue to be felt long after they have left Congress, and we can only hope that they will have the vision and fortitude to act courageously and with a sense of bringing our country back to where it belongs – as the economic leader of the world.

The Keelen Group and the Mason Contractors Association of America look forward to ensuring that the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction realizes the important role that mason contractors play in our economy, and they have a voice in the debates as the committee moves forward with its work.


Related Posts

  • 44
    March 2011  Government Affairs Legislative Committee Update Matthew B. Keelen and Michael J. Falencki In January, the Legislative Committee met during the MCAA Convention in Las Vegas. We discussed the wrap-up of the 111th Congress, the changed political dynamic and its impact, and what we can expect from the 112th Congress. Despite a highly politicized…
    Tags: congress, senate, house, committee, government
  • 43
    January 2011 Government Affairs Lame Duck: Wrapping up the 111th Congress Matthew B. Keelen and Michael J. Falencki Before November’s new Members of Congress officially begin their terms, the 111th Congress was attempting to finish legislation and adjourn for the year. The two issues most pressing – expiration of the 2001 and 2003 tax cuts…
    Tags: congress, house, senate, government, members
  • 40
    February 2011 Government Affairs Reenergizing our Economy House Small Business Committee Chairman Sam Graves Reenergizing our economy and rekindling the American spirit of entrepreneurship must be the central focus of the 112th Congress. The small business owners who create the majority of new jobs need a government that will work with them – not against…
    Tags: committee, house, congress
  • 40
    September 2009 Government Affairs Congressional Update Matthew B. Keelen  and Michael J. Falencki Throughout the month of August, Congressional members hosted “town hall” events to discuss the pending healthcare legislation. With the final committee in the House, the Committee on Energy & Commerce, approving its version of the legislation, the House is expected to take…
    Tags: committee, house, senate, government, congress, members
  • 38
    Looking Ahead to the 114th CongressBy Stephen A. Borg After a game-changing election in November, it appears we are in for quite an adventurous 114th Session of Congress. The 114th Session of Congress will span 2015 and 2016, covering the last two years of President Obama’s term. It will likely be full of numerous legislative…
    Tags: congress, senate, house


Zachary Zuldema 1st Place (2nd Year) Winner Interview at the World of Concrete

Zachary Zuldema 1st Place (2nd Year) Winner Interview at the World of Concrete

Bill Dentinger 2015 Inductee MCAA Hall of Fame

Bill Dentinger 2015 Inductee MCAA Hall of Fame

John Smith, Jr.

John Smith, Jr. receives the 2015 MCAA C. DeWitt Brown Leadman Award

2015 MCAA Fastest Trowel On The Block Winner

2015 MCAA Fastest Trowel On The Block Winner

Daniel Furr 1st Place Winner

Daniel Furr 1st Place Winner (First Year), Masonry Skills Challenge

Synpro Products

Masonry Magazine Video News Interview: Michael Goyne

Hydro Mobile Inc

Interview with Kevin O'Shea of Hydro Mobile, Inc.

Interview with Mark Kemp – Chairman, MCAA

Interview with Masonry Contractors Association of America Chairman, Mark Kemp

Mortar Net Solutions

Interview with Steve Fechino from Mortar Net Solutions

Pullman Ermator

Interview with Lyndon Kelsey of Pullman Ermator

Keene Building Products

Interview with Jim O'Neill of Keene Building Products